Product Line /

Products Information。

Home    Products    Product Line    Ricoh Products  Featured Products    Featured products - RP124

Featured products - RP124

LDO regulator with 0.3 µA current consumption and integrated battery voltage monitor
Featured products - Rp124

The RP124 is Ricoh’s newest 100mA LDO regulator with a unique integrated battery voltage monitor to make it possible to measure the remaining charge left in the battery. The regulator features an ultra-low current consumption of only 0.3µA (at no-load), extending the lifetime of battery powered devices, which is important for those applications that are mainly in sleep mode and resume for a periodical brief moment to perform a task.

Battery voltage monitor:

The additional battery monitor circuit is one of the key features of the RP124, a conventional way to measure the remaining battery charge is using an external resistor divider + MOSFET connected to an A/D Converter. However, the input impedance of this solution is typically low resulting in a considerable current flow to ground, draining the battery and limiting the lifetime of the application. The RP124 provides a simple solution with a built-in resistor divider and voltage follower as a buffer. As an advantage, this circuit has a much lower current flow to ground and the output is compatible with the input impedance of the A/D converter. In addition, all essential components for this circuit are integrated into the chip, reducing valuable circuit board space and cost. In this way, it is possible to make a simple fuel gauge for primary batteries for example. Refer to the image below for details.

Conventional Products

① A/D Converter with low input impedanc.

② Resistor divider impedance must be low as wel.

Large current flow to ground,draining the battery.

Featured products - Rp124

RP124x Solution

Resistor divider embedded + buffered with voltage follower

。No large current flow

。No external components needed

Featured products - RP124

Low current consumption:

Specific applications are mainly in a sleep mode and only wake up briefly to perform a measurement, transmits some data and go back to the sleep mode again. So actually, the sleep mode is the dominating operating mode and it is necessary to reduce the current consumption in this mode as much as possible. The RP124 fits perfectly in such requirement with its current consumption of 0.3µA.

There are a few product versions available with options for the CE pin and the automatic discharge function. The CE pin disables the LDO for the B and D-versions. As for the E-version, it has the possibility to disable the battery monitor circuit when not in use. It saves another 0.1µA whilst the LDO remains in operation, resulting in a current consumption of only 0.2µA.

Three operating modes:

The RP124 (similar to the popular RP118 without battery voltage monitor) is a special kind of product offering three operating modes:

1.Low power consumption mode, saving battery power at low output current demand
2.Fast transient response mode, enhanced dynamic performance at high output current demand
3.Off mode, to reduce current consumption to a minimum

The device switches automatically between the low power consumption and the fast transient response mode, based on the output current demand of the application. The performance of the LDO is enhanced in fast transient response mode. In particular, the ripple rejection as well as the response speed to line and load transients demonstrate better results compared to a conventional LDO with low current consumption. This means the RP124 contributes to optimised output voltage stabi-lity and ripple reduction. The Off Mode is controlled by the Chip Enable pin and turns the LDO offline, reducing current consumption to a minimum. Refer to the images below regarding supply current versus output current (left) and performance versus output current (right).

RP124x28xx

Featured products - RP124x28xx

RP124x18xx, VIN = 2.8 V

Featured products - RP124x28xx

Safety and other functions:

The RP124 features an embedded fold back current limit circuit. When a short circuit occurs at the output, this circuit will decrease the output current to a level of 65mA, thus protecting the LDO and other electronic parts of the application from possible damage. After removing the short, the regulator resumes to normal operation automatically.

Optional features by product version:

Package: Standard SOT-23-5 or compact DFN1212-6 package to minimize the PCB area.
Battery Monitor Output: 1/3 or 1/4 of the input voltage.
CE pin function: Pin to enable/disable the LDO Regulator or Voltage Monitor circuit.
Auto-discharge function: None, auto-discharge available for LDO Regulator or Voltage Monitor output.
The auto-discharge function enables a fast discharge of the output capacitor when the LDO is switched off.

 

 

 

Conclusion:

The RP124 is intended for use in a wide variety of applications that require a long battery lifetime. It has a remarkable current consumption of only 0.3µA and has features to improve its performance when needed. This makes a significant difference compared to other LDOs with low current consumption and is important for battery powered applications such as wearables, medical and IoT devices with RF transmitters, low power CPUs, stand-alone sensors and energy harvesting circuits etcetera. The additional battery monitor is a valuable add-on to this product for which is a popular request from electronics designers.

產品線 /

代理產品線資訊。

首頁    產品資訊    產品線    Ricoh 產品  Featured Products    Featured products - RP124

Featured products - RP124

具有0.3 µA消費電流的LDO穩壓器和集成電池電壓監視器
Featured products - Rp124

RP124是理光最新的100 mA LDO穩壓器,配有獨特的集成電池電壓監控器,可以測量電池剩餘電量。該穩壓器的超低消費電流僅為0.3 µA (空載時),延長了電池供電設備的使用壽命,這對於那些主要處於睡眠模式且恢復一段時間短暫執行任務的應用非常重要。

電池電壓監控器 :

額外的電池監控電路是RP124的關鍵特性之一,測量剩餘電池電量的傳統方法是使用連接到AD轉換器的外部電阻分壓器+ MOSFET。然而,該解決方案的輸入阻抗通常較低,導致相當大的電流流向地面,耗盡電池並限制應用的壽命。 RP124提供了一個簡單的解決方案,將內置電阻分壓器和電壓跟隨器作為緩衝器。作為一個優點,該電路具有較低的對地電流,並且輸出可以與AD轉換器的輸入阻抗兼容。此外,該電路的所有基本組件都集成在芯片中,從而減少了寶貴的電路板空間和成本。以這種方式,例如可以製造用於一次電池的簡單燃料計。有關詳細信息,請參閱下圖。

前代產品 : 外部電阻分壓

由於內置MCU的AD轉換器的輸入 (①) 為低阻抗,所以電池電壓的監視器輸入的電壓電壓 (②) 必須為低阻抗。因此,由於分壓電阻上產生的漏電流 (耗電) 較大,會導致整個系統的耗電也會變大。因此需要追加額外的控制信號電路,使得外接部品增多並佔據的更大的板上的面積。

Featured products - Rp124

。系統全體消費電流較大

。電壓精度不足

。需要外接部品,並且佔據較大的電路板面積

RP124 : 帶有電池電壓監控功能

在RP124內部分壓電池電壓,從BM端子輸出。輸出電壓可選擇電池電壓的1/3或1/4。由於不需要外接部件,可以節省電路板的貼片面積。

Featured products - RP124

。低消費電流,電池使用時間延長

。高電壓精度

。電路板貼片面積減少

低消費電流 :

具體應用主要處於睡眠模式,僅短暫喚醒以執行測量,傳輸一些數據並再次返回睡眠模式。實際上,睡眠模式是主要的操作模式,並且必須盡可能地減少該模式下的消費電流。 RP124完全符合此要求,其消費電流為0.3µA。

對於CE引腳和自動放電功能,有一些產品版本可供選擇。 CE引腳能夠禁用B和D版本的LDO,至於E版本,它可以在不使用時禁用電池監控電路。在LDO保持工作狀態時,它可以節省0.1 µA電流,因此消費電流僅為0.2 µA。

三種操作模式 :

RP124 (類似於流行的RP118,不帶電池電壓監測器) 是一種特殊的產品,提供三種操作模式 :

1.低功耗模式,在低輸出電流需求下節省電池電量
2.快速瞬態響應模式,在高輸出電流需求下增強動態性能
3.關閉模式,將消費電流降至最低

該器件根據應用的輸出電流需求,在低功耗和快速瞬態響應模式之間自動切換。在快速瞬態響應模式下,LDO的性能得到了增強。特別是,與具有低消費電流的傳統LDO相比,紋波抑制以及對線路和負載瞬變的響應速度表現出更好的結果。這意味著RP124有助於優化輸出電壓穩定性和減少紋波。關閉模式由芯片使能引腳控制,並使LDO脫機,從而將消費電流降至最低。
請參考下面的圖片,了解電源電流與輸出電流 (左) 和性能與輸出電流 (右) 的關係。

RP124x28xx

Featured products - RP124x28xx

RP124x18xx, VIN = 2.8 V

Featured products - RP124x28xx

安全和其他功能 :

RP124具有嵌入式反饋式限流電路。當輸出端發生短路時,該電路會將輸出電流降至65 mA,從而保護LDO和應用的其他電子部件免受可能的損壞。移除短路後,調節器自動恢復正常運行。

產品版本的可選功能 :

。封裝:標準SOT-23-5或緊湊型DFN1212-6封裝,可最大限度地減少PCB面積。
。電池監視器輸出:輸入電壓的1/3或1/4。
。CE引腳功能:用於啟用/禁止LDO穩壓器或電壓監控電路的引腳。
。自動放電功能:無,自動放電可用於LDO穩壓器或電壓監視器輸出。
。當LDO關閉時,自動放電功能可以使輸出電容快速放電。

 

 

 

綜上所述 :

RP124適用於需要較長電池壽命的各種應用。它具有僅0.3 µA的顯著的消費電流,並具有在需要時改善其性能的功能。與具有低消費電流的其他LDO相比,這具有明顯的差異,並且對於電池供電的應用非常重要,例如可穿戴設備,具有RF發射器的醫療設備和物聯網設備,以及低功率CPU,獨立傳感器和能量收集電路等。附加電池監視器是該產品的一個有價值的附加裝置,這是受電子設計人員青睞的需求。