Product Line /

Products Information。

Home    Products    Product Line    Ricoh Products  Featured Products    Featured products - R5441 / R5443

Featured products - R5441 / R5443

New ideas and advanced solutions for Li-Ion Protection ICs
Featured products - R5441 / R5443

In recent years, the number of applications using Li-Ion batteries has increased significantly. Initially, single cell batteries were used in mobile phone applications but nowadays they are used in almost any kind of portable device.

Ricoh has always been a pioneer in developing Li-Ion protection ICs and production already started around 1995. So far, smartphones were considered as one of the smallest or thinnest devices using Li-Ion batteries but this situation changed in the last years with the introduction of rechargeable smart watches, hearing aid instruments and fitness trackers. As a result, the required battery capacity shrinked from a 3000mAh for smart phones to around 50mAh for these so-called wearable devices. Such applications have new challenging requirements for its internal components, like ultra-small package size, low current consumption in on and standby mode but also sophisticated safety circuits.

The new R5441 and R5443 were especially designed for this purpose and both products are embedded in a wafer level chip scaled package (WLCSP) to minimize board space. The R5443 is the smallest version and requires a board space area of only 1.05mm2 and has a thickness of 0.36mm. It is considered as one of the smallest single cell Li-Ion protection ICs available today. Around 53% smaller compared to the popular protection ICs in a 1.4 x 1.4mm DFN package.

Li-Ion Battery Protection:

Li-Ion batteries are safe in general when used according to the specifications but can become a potential hazard in case of an internal or mechanical failure. Overheating, emitting fumes or even worse can be the result and also the manufacturer’s reputation can become seriously harmed when a disaster strikes. The Li-Ion battery protection IC monitors the charge and discharge process and intervenes as soon as the process is at risk of going beyond the safe operation range of the battery cell. The protection ICs can be used on the application’s circuit board when used with a bare battery cell but also can be integrated in a laminated battery pack. In particular the rechargeable Li-Ion batteries have strict operation limits to keep the battery cell in optimal condition and to prevent a critical situation when overloaded. The R5441 and R5443 include several detection circuits and their outputs control two external MOSFETs that are connected in series with the battery wiring.

Protection Circuits:

。Over-voltage: When the battery voltage exceeds the over-charge voltage threshold for a period of time, the chip will interrupt the charge process preventing an overload condition.

。Over-discharge voltage: In the event that the over-discharge voltage threshold is exceeded for a period of time, the chip will interrupt the discharge process and enters a standby mode. It disables some internal circuits to lower the current consumption and ensuring further discharge of the battery is kept to a minimum.

。Discharge over-current: When the discharge current exceeds the maximum threshold for a period of time, the protection circuit becomes active.

。Charge over-current: The protection circuit is triggered as soon the charge current exceeds the threshold for a period of time.

。Short current: The short protection circuit is triggered at a higher discharge current level compared to the discharge over-current level and has a shorter delay time.

Optional functions:

Optional latch and auto-release functions for the over-charge and over-discharge monitoring circuits are available. A latch function keeps the charge or discharge process interrupted until a charger is disconnected or connected. The auto-release function releases the interruption when the release threshold is exceeded.

Circuit delay times are all internally fixed and do not need any external components. By selecting a particular product version one has the possibility to specify the required delay times.

Another option is the 0V battery charge function. It is possible to prevent recharging when the battery voltage decreases below deep discharge threshold (TYP. 1.25V). In such case, the Li-Ion cell may not be in safe status for the next charging process. Refer to the datasheet for more details about optional functions.

High Accuracy Over-Charge Voltage Threshold:

Featured products - R5441_R5443

Both the R5441 and R5443 have an improved over-charge voltage threshold accuracy of ±10mV versus ±30mV for regular products. The idea behind this feature is to increase the charge voltage whilst maintaining the same safety level. As a result, the battery operation lifetime will increase with 40mV that is important for applications with a small battery capacity. The image shows more details and compares a standard versus an improved accuracy level.

Resistor current sense versus MOSFET current sense:

Traditionally one makes use of the MOSFET on-resistance in order to measure the current flow of the battery pack. However, the on-resistance level is most inaccurate as it depends on various criteria such as ambient temperature, gate voltage and MOSFET type.

Featured products - R5441_R5443

Design engineers may often guess at what over-current level the protection IC will trigger its over-current protection. As for a higher standard of current sensing, it is becoming more common nowadays to make use of an external current sense resistor. Such resistor is available on the market and can be ordered with your preferred resistance value and accuracy level.

The great advantage of using this method is that the over-current threshold margin improves significantly in comparison to MOSFET current sense.

Thermal Protection:

The R5441 has an additional circuit to monitor the temperature of the battery pack by connecting an external NTC resistor to the Tin pin. In case of an over-temperature event, the charging or discharging process is interrupted. The over-temperature threshold is specified by product version in a range from 40 to 70°C. It is even possible to set different temperature threshold settings for the over-charge and over-discharge threshold.

Low current consumption:

Significant detail for the R5441 / R5443 is that the current consumption of the ICs is equal or lower than most other available solutions on the market and contributes reducing the self-discharge rate of the battery pack. In normal operation, the current consumption is respectively 3.5µA and 2.5µA. When the product enters the standby mode, the product consumes only 0.04µA.

Conclusion:

The R5441 and R5443 are welcome additions to the market; targeted devices are wearable devices with a small single cell Li-Ion or Li-Polymer battery. Both have a staggering small footprint of respectively 1.39 and 1.05mm2. The products offer a standard and enhanced safety solution with additional circuit for thermal protection to detect an overheated battery pack. Moreover, they have excellent high accuracy threshold settings providing a higher safety level for those applications that are worn on our body. We continue to develop more solutions for this market and we will be back soon with more news.

產品線 /

代理產品線資訊。

首頁    產品資訊    產品線    Ricoh 產品  Featured Products    鋰離子保護芯片的新思路和先進解決方案

Featured products - R5441 / R5443

鋰離子保護芯片的新思路和先進解決方案
Featured products - R5441 / R5443

近年來,使用鋰離子電池的應用數量顯著增加。最初,單電池用於移動電話應用,但現在它們幾乎用於任何類型的便攜式設備。

Ricoh一直是開發鋰離子保護IC的先驅,並且相關產品已經在1995年左右開始被生產出來。到目前為止,智能手機被認為是使用鋰離子電池的最小或最薄的設備之一,但這種情況在過去幾年隨著可充電智能手錶,助聽器和健身追?器的引入而發生了變化。因此,所需的電池容量從智能手機的3000 mAh減小到這些所謂的可穿戴設備的50 mAh左右。這些應用對其內部組件提出了新的挑戰性要求,例如超小封裝尺寸,開啟和待機模式下的低電流消耗以及復雜的安全電路。

新型R5441和R5443專為此目的而設計,兩款產品均嵌入晶圓級芯片尺寸封裝(WLCSP),以最大限度地縮小電路板空間。 R5443是最小的版本,板面積僅為1.05 mm2,厚度為0.36 mm。它被認為是目前最小的單節鋰離子保護IC之一。與採用1.4 x 1.4 mm DFN封裝的流行保護IC相比,小約53%。

鋰離子電池保護:

鋰離子電池在按照規範使用時通常是安全的,但在內部或機械故障的情況下可能成為潛在的危險。結果可能導致過熱,散發煙霧甚至更糟,當事故發生時,製造商的聲譽也會受到嚴重損害。鋰離子電池保護IC監控充電和放電過程,並在過程有可能超出電池安全工作範圍的風險時進行干預。當與裸電池一起使用時,保護IC可以在應用的電路板上使用,但也可以集成在疊層電池組中。特別是可充電鋰離子電池具有嚴格的操作限制,以使電池處於最佳狀態並防止過載時的危急情況。 R5441和R5443包括多個檢測電路,它們的輸出控制兩個與電池接線串聯的外部MOSFET。

保護電路:

。充電過壓: 當電池電壓超過過充電壓閾值一段時間後,芯片將中斷充電過程,防止過載。

。放電欠壓: 如果低於過放電壓閾值一段時間,芯片將中斷放電過程並進入待機模式。它禁用一些內部電路以降低電流消耗,並確保將電池的進一步放電保持在最低限度。

。放電過電流: 當放電電流超過最大閾值一段時間後,保護電路變為有效。

。充電過電流: 一旦充電電流超過閾值一段時間,就會觸發保護電路。

。短路電流: 與放電過電流水平相比,短路保護電路以更高的放電電流水平觸發,延遲時間更短。

高精度過充電壓閾值:

Featured products - R5441_R5443

R5441和R5443的過充電壓閾值精度均優於±10mV,而普通產品則為±30mV。此功能背後的想法是增加充電電壓,同時保持相同的安全水平。因此,電池的實際滿充電壓可以提高40mV,這對於電池容量較小的應用非常重要。下圖將詳細說明,並比較標準與改進的準確度水平。

電阻器電流檢測與MOSFET電流檢測:

傳統上,人們利用MOSFET導通電阻來測量電池組的電流。但是,導通電阻水平最不准確,因為它取決於各種標準,如環境溫度,柵極電壓和MOSFET類型。

設計工程師可能經常猜測保護IC將觸發其過流保護的過電流水平。至於更高標準的電流檢測,現在使用外部電流檢測電阻變得越來越普遍。這種電阻器可在市場上買到,可以根據您的首選電阻值和精度水平訂購。

使用這種方法的最大優點是,與MOSFET電流檢測相比,過流閾值裕度顯著提高。

Featured products - R5441_R5443

熱保護:

R5441有一個額外的電路,通過將外部NTC電阻連接到錫引腳來監控電池組的溫度。在溫度過高的情況下,充電或放電過程中斷。過溫閾值由產品版本指定,範圍為40°C至70°C。甚至可以為過充電和過放電閾值設置不同的溫度閾值設置。

可選功能:

可提供用於過充電和過放電監控電路的可選鎖存(Latch)和自動釋放功能(Auto release)。鎖定功能可以在充電器斷開或連接之前保持鎖定。自動釋放模式是,當電池電壓超過自動釋放閾值時,芯片會自動恢復正常模式。

電路延遲時間都是內部固定的,不需要任何外部元件。通過選擇特定產品版本,可以指定所需的延遲時間。

另一種選擇是0V電池充電功能。當電池電壓降至深度放電閾值(TYP. 1.25 V)以下時,可以防止再充電。在這種情況下,鋰離子電池可能不能再次充電或使用,保護使用者的安全。有關可選功能的更多詳細信息,請參閱數據表。

低電流消耗:

R5441 / R5443的重要細節是IC的電流消耗等於或低於市場上絕大多數其他可用解決方案,並有助於降低電池組的自放電率。在正常操作中,電流消耗分別為3.5 µA和2.5 µA。當產品進入待機模式時,產品僅消耗0.04 µA。

綜上所述:

R5441和R5443是市場上受歡迎的新產品; 目標設備是具有小型單節鋰離子或鋰聚合物電池的可穿戴設備。兩者的佔地面積分別為1.39 mm2和1.05 mm2。 R5441提供標準和增強的安全解決方案,帶有額外的熱保護電路,可檢測過熱的電池組。此外,它們具有出色的高精度閾值設置,可為我們身體上佩戴的應用提供更高的安全性。我們將繼續為這個市場開發更多的解決方案,我們將很快回來提供更多消息。